Choosing a School


Choosing a School

We encourage you to find out as much information as possible about a school before you apply to admit your child. It is important to look at three major areas:

Curriculum 

The curriculum is much more than the textbooks or examinations – it refers to everything the school teaches, including subjects and activities inside and outside the classroom. These include extra-curricular activities, school trips, and visitors to the school. Different curricula also adopt different approaches to learning.

All curricula lead to public examinations and qualifications. These will be important considerations in your choice of curriculum for your child - you may need to think about the requirements of any future application to university or further education, either in the UAE or abroad. In addition, if you are coming from abroad, your selection of a curriculum may depend upon your country of origin as you may want your child to integrate back into your home country’s education system at some time in the future. 

Dubai’s private schools offer 17 different curricula. You can search our schools directory by curriculum to find a suitable school for you. 

Quality of education 

The learning outcomes and performance of schools will be important to you in making your decision. DSIB’s annual inspection reports allow you to look at these and other aspects of schools in detail. Click here to search for individual inspection reports

The school environment 

Your child will be spending a lot of time in school and all aspects of the school have an impact on your child’s social development and personality. As part of the decision-making process, try to arrange a tour of the school, talk with administrators, teachers and students and see the school in action. 
Areas you should talk about include how the school is structured, whether classes are mixed and/or whether classes are streamed for ability, how transport is arranged, and the arrangements for lunch and breaks. You can also find out the school policies on examinations, assessment, discipline, dealing with bullying, communications with parents, and technology integration, to name just a few.  

In short, get as much information as possible before you decide which school is best for your child. 

The tools below will help in your search for schools:

  • KHDA iPhone App: This mobile application allows you to search for Dubai schools using a number of criteria, including school performance, location and curriculum. Click here to download it.

  • KHDA Directory: This allows you to find schools in Dubai, their contact details and website addresses. 

  • School Inspection Reports: The Dubai School Inspection Bureau (DSIB) issues annual inspection reports that include detailed feedback on each school. Click here to find the inspection report for the school(s) you are considering.

PDF Reader Opens in new window
Happiness Meter 87% Opens in new window

اختيار المدرسة


اختيار المدرسة

حرصاً منا في الهيئة على حصولكم على أفضل الخدمات، فإننا ندعوكم إلى جمع أكبر قدر ممكن من المعلومات حول المدرسة التي تعتزمون تسجيل ابنكم فيها، وعليكم حينها التركيز على ثلاثة جوانب رئيسية هي:

المنهاج التعليمي

يعتقد الكثيرون بأن المنهاج التعليمي يقتصر على المواد والكتب الدراسية التي يتم تدريسها أو الامتحانات التي يتم إجراؤها، ولكنه يشمل كل ما تُعلمه المدرسة لطلبتها من مواد دراسية ومهارات حياتية وأنشطة مساندة داخل وخارج غرف الفصول الدراسية، ويشتمل ذلك على الأنشطة اللاصفية والرحلات المدرسية والمحاضرات التي يقدمها ضيوف المدرسة. وتعتمد المناهج التعليمية المختلفة طرائق مختلفة في التعلّم. 

وتقود كافة المناهج التعليمية إلى امتحانات رسمية تمكن الطلبة من الحصول على المؤهلات، ومن المهم أن تراعوا هذه النقطة في اختياركم المنهاج التعليمي المناسب لابنكم، وربما تحتاجون النظر في متطلبات التسجيل في أية جامعة أو مؤسسة تعليمية أخرى تفكرون فيها مستقبلاً، سواء كانت داخل الإمارات أو خارجها. أضف إلى ذلك بأنه في حال قدومكم من خارج الإمارة، فقد يعتمد اختياركم للمنهاج التعليمي على موطنكم الأصلي، وربما ترغبون في المستقبل عودة ابنكم في مرحلة ما للانخراط في المنظومة التعليمية لموطنكم الأصلي. 

وتوفر المدارس الخاصة في دبي 17 منهاجاً تعليمياً مختلفاً، ونوفر على هذا الموقع دليلاً للمدارس الخاصة، يمكنكم البحث فيه عبر المنهاج التعليمي عن مدرسةٍ مناسبة لابنكم. 

جودة التعليم

تُعد مُخرجات التعليم وأداء المدارس من الجوانب المهمة التي تُسهم في اتخاذ قراركم باختيار مدرسة لابنكم، وتتيح لكم تقارير الرقابة المدرسية التي يصدرها سنوياً جهاز الرقابة المدرسية، النظر في هذه الجوانب وغيرها على نحو تفصيلي. يمكنكم النقر هنا للبحث في تقارير الرقابة المدرسية لأية مدرسة من المدارس. 

بيئة المدرسة 

سوف يُمضي ابنكم قدراً وافراً من وقته في المدرسة، وستؤثر كافة جوانب المدرسة على شخصيته وتطوره الاجتماعي. وفي إطار تحضيركم لاتخاذ القرار المناسب، حاولوا ترتيب زيارة للمدرسة، والتحدث مع الإداريين والمعلمين والطلبة، والاطلاع على المدرسة أثناء عملها. 

وينبغي أن تتناولوا في أحاديثكم بعض الجوانب مثل: أسلوب تنظيم المدرسة، وفيما إذا كانت غرف الفصول الدراسية مختلطة أم لا؟ وهل يتم تنظيم حصص دراسية بحسب قدرات الطلبة؟ وما هي الترتيبات المتعلقة بالمواصلات المدرسية، وتلك المتعلقة بفترات الاستراحة وتناول الطعام؟ كما يجب الاطلاع على سياسات المدرسة فيما يتعلق بالامتحانات والتقييم، وقواعد الانضباط والتعامل مع سلوكيات الإيذاء المتعمد، والتواصل مع أولياء الأمور، واستخدام التكنولوجيا في التعليم، إلى ما هنالك.
وباختصار، حاولوا الحصول على أكبر قدر من المعلومات حول المدرسة التي تجدونها مناسبة لابنكم. وستساعدكم الأدوات التالية في عملية البحث عن المدارس: 

  • تطبيق هيئة المعرفة على الأجهزة الذكية: يُتيح لكم هذا التطبيق البحث عن مدارس دبي باستخدام عددٍ من المعايير، منها مستوى أداء المدرسة وموقعها الجغرافي ومنهاجها التعليمي. يرجى النقر هنا لتنزيل البرنامج. 

  • دليل المؤسسات التعليمية: يمكنكم الاستفادة من هذا الدليل في البحث عن المدارس الموجودة في دبي. 

  • تقارير الرقابة المدرسية: يُصدر جهاز الرقابة المدرسية في دبي تقارير سنوية للرقابة المدرسية، تتضمن تقييمات مفصلة حول أداء كل مدرسة في مختلف جوانب العملية التعليمية. يرجى النقر هنا للبحث عن تقارير الرقابة المدرسية للمدرسة/المدارس التي تفكر بها. 
 

تنزيل قارئ PDF فتح في نافدة جديدة
مقياس السعادة 75% فتح في نافدة جديدة